Let’s Read A Game of Thrones! Part 11: Jon 2

GameofThrones_1

…he’s late.

jackal-pups-playing

The Dark One will be here soon. We can smell his approach.

GameofThrones_1

Well. Great. Stay away from me.

…Hey there, puppies.

jackal-pups-playing

Dark One! Yay!

GameofThrones_1

Thought you had given up.

Don’t tempt me. No, I was playing TIS-100.

Book Spirit: …excuse me?

It’s a game about programming, except it really is programming. Except you only have the most basic tools, and a very limited amount of space to work in.

Book Spirit: Uh-huh.

I’m currently trying to figure out how to take a sequence of numbers and return the lowest and highest value, without being able to directly compare two numbers.

Book Spirit: Right.

Given the virtual hardware limitations I’m working with, I’m not sure how to reduce the number of instructions to fit –

Book Spirit: Look, this is very interesting, but are you going to review this week or not?

Ah. Yeah, I suppose I should get to that. I’ll get that done and posted, so I can get back to work.

Book Spirit: You’ve got to be kidding me.


Jon 2 (10)

It is the day of Jon’s departure from Winterfell, and he is completing his goodbyes. He had been avoiding seeing Bran, because Catelyn Stark had been watching the nearly dead boy day and night since his accident. But since it might be the last time he would ever see Bran, Jon musters his courage and climbs up to see him.

Catelyn threatens to call the guards, but Jon ignores her and goes to his brother’s side. Bran looks awful, basically a sack of skin and bones, but he is still breathing. Jon apologizes to his comatose brother for not coming sooner, and pleads with him not to die, for his siblings sake. Catelyn muses aloud that she had prayed for days to her seven-faced god that Bran would not leave her and go south, and this was her answer. Jon tries to comfort her, but she snaps at him.

Jon says goodbye to his brother, and goes to leave. His stepmother calls him by name, and when he turns back, she says, “It should have been you.”

Down in the courtyard, Robb is shouting orders, accompanied by his wolf, Grey Wind. When Jon approaches him, he mentions that their uncle Benjen had been looking for him. Jon puts off finding Benjen, and Robb notices that something is wrong. Jon admits that he had gone to see Bran, and Robb reassures him that Bran would live. Jon agrees, and they say goodbye to each other. Robb considers sending Jon to the stables, where Benjen told him to meet, but Jon has one more goodbye to make, and Robb agrees to letting him be.

Jon picks up a package from the armory, and goes to the Keep to meet his sister Arya. She is currently packing, or repacking, her luggage with her wolf’s aid. She is pleased to see Jon, as she had not been allowed to go out to say goodbye. Jon tells her that he has brought her something that needs to be packed carefully, and gives her a sword. Arya is delighted, and looks forward to training with her new weapon. Jon tells her to practice with it every day, and to look for someone to practice with in King’s Landing. He also tells her the weapon’s name: Needle.


Did I mention, Arya’s wolf’s name is Nymeria? I like that name.

GameofThrones_1

Actually, I don’t think you mentioned any of the wolves by name?

Really? Robb’s Grey Wind, Sansa’s Lady (which name makes me gag), Arya’s Nymeria, and Jon’s Ghost. I’m pretty sure I mentioned Ghost, though.

Book Spirit: You could read back and check…?

Eh. I don’t care that much. Anyhow, as you might gather from my summary, this chapter is basically the interaction of Jon with three characters, Catelyn, Robb, and Arya. I don’t know how much new we learn from this but, hey, review the chapter you’ve got, right?

Book Spirit: You’re not even trying today, are you?

Ignoring you. So, first up, Catelyn. She can die. Alright, moving on –

Book Spirit: Wait, wait, wait, what was that? She gets three words? Can’t you do better than that?

Why would I? I’ve got no sympathy left for the woman. Whatever her issues with Jon’s parentage, no matter how broken she is after Bran’s accident, no parent figure should ever turn to a child and tell them that they should have been hurt, especially in the place of a sibling better beloved. It is the single most morally bankrupt thing I’ve read in this work so far, and while I know that this party is still gearing up, it hasn’t exactly been all hearts and flowers so far. As I may have mentioned.

Book Spirit: So, it’s worse than Jaime throwing the boy out the window in the first place?

Sure, ask the difficult question. I think it is worse; I don’t want to defend Jaime in any way, but at least the boy wasn’t his own child.

Book Spirit: Well, Catelyn doesn’t think of Jon as her own child –

Which only makes her worse. No argument is going to convince me otherwise, and I wish her the worst on the other side of the Gate.

Book Spirit: That ‘Gate’ again, huh? Alright, I’ll bite: what is on the other side of the Gate?

Tragedy.

Book Spirit: What.

Beyond the Gate lies all of Tragedy.

Book Spirit: That just raises more questions.

Deal with it. I’m done with this woman, and moving on. So. Robb. Honestly, this kid hasn’t got a hell of a lot of development yet, but we can presume he’s going to be fairly important in the future, otherwise why are we even here. Nice that he and Jon treat each other like brothers, even if they chose to accent the distance between each other (referring to each other as Stark and Stone). It seems he’s trying to fit his new role of Lord of the castle, so, go Robb I guess. Can you tell I’m kind of ‘meh’ on this whole chapter?

Book Spirit: Clearly.

Oh, for my weekly dose of pointless nitpicking –

Book Spirit: Well, at least you admit it’s pointless.

– some of the word choice seems to imply that Robb is leaving too, reinforced by his presence among people who are preparing to leave. Yet we know Robb is staying here. Cognitive dissonance.

Book Spirit: Just for you, I believe.

Well. Finally we have Arya, who is a joy. I admit to sharing her opinion on the necessity of folding clothes, and greatly sympathize with her plight.

Book Spirit: You save your sympathy for the strangest things.

So I thought about Jon’s gift to her, and whether a sword was really an appropriate gift for a nine-year-old girl. Then I thought about the world they are living in, and decided that Jon was the best brother ever. Seriously, while the damn thing is likely to get her in a lot of trouble, giving her the means to defend herself is probably the most foresighted act I’ve seen in this book so far. Screw gender roles (so to speak), bring on the action girls!

…Yeah, I’ve been exposed to too much Japanese anime. It happens.

Anyhow, that’s all I’ve got. Short chapter, hated part of it, meh’d part of it, smiled at the end. Ho hum.

Book Spirit: That’s it? You really phoned this one in.

Nah, we got rid of dial-up ages ago.

Book Spirit: Even your jokes are lame.

Says the figment of my imagination.

Book Spirit: So, you believe you’re talking to yourself? Doesn’t that make you insane?

Hey, know yourself, right?


Next time: Daenarys. Someone shoot me now.


I know I don’t have any actual readers, but if I did, they could tune in tomorrow for a special announcement!

Book Spirit: You’re giving up?

Generally, these things just die unannounced, so no. More or less the opposite, in fact.

Leave a Reply

