Let’s Read A Game of Thrones! Part 17: Eddard 3

Good morning, people. No time to hang around, let’s get right to it!

GameofThrones_1

Wait!

No!… Or rather, what do you want now?

Book Spirit: What’s going on around here? What happened to the landscape, and why are you in such a hurry?

…didn’t you see the note from my <<other self>>?

Book Spirit: No…

Hmph. Long story short, instabilities in that world lead to instabilities in this one. I have to hurry and do this job, so I can go back to holding the Gate shut.

Book Spirit: Isn’t that…really bad?

Yes, it is, so please don’t distract me. Ok! We’re already late, so here is this week’s chapter!


Eddard 3 (16)

Ned has just gotten news that, after three days, his daughter Arya has been found. He hurries to the audience chamber King Robert had ‘borrowed’ from the local lord, Darry. He finds it crowded, mostly with Lannister followers. Robert makes Arya tell her side of the story, and then Prince Joffrey claims that it happened differently, that Arya and Micah ambushed him with clubs. Robert is exasperated by their differing accounts, and Ned suggests that Sansa tell her side of the story. However, Sansa refuses, claiming she cannot remember what happened. Arya attacks her in a rage, calling her a liar. Ned stops the fight, and Robert decides that both Arya and Joffrey should be punished. Cersei Lannister, however, insists that Arya’s wolf needs to be tracked down and killed, and puts a bounty on its pelt. Robert wants nothing to do with it, and an incensed Cersei demands that Sansa’s wolf be killed as well. Against Ned’s pleas Robert gives the order, and rather than let anyone else kill her Ned decides to do the execution himself. Afterwards, he tells his men to take the body north, so that the queen couldn’t have Lady’s pelt. On his way back to his rooms, he encounters Sandor Clegane, who has run down and killed Arya’s ‘pet’: Micah, the butcher’s boy.


 

And, done.

GameofThrones_1

That was…succinct.

Thank you. It wasn’t a very long chapter, really.

Book Spirit: And you aren’t worried about missing important details?

A little, but with my other duties, I don’t have a lot of time to spend on it right now.

Book Spirit: That’s too bad.

Yeah. But as people keep telling me, it is what it is.

Book Spirit: How…fatalistic.

I won’t argue with you. But you seem to have something you want to ask me…?

Book Spirit: Well. Um. Aren’t you angry?

About what?

Book Spirit: About the wolf. I thought you’d be furious…

Well, I’m kind of angry, I suppose. Lady certainly didn’t deserve to die, even if she did have a stupid name. For a wolf, I mean, if it was some sort of purebred Spaniel the name would be fine. Anyway, setting aside the inherent tragedy, it ends up being a punishment for Sansa. She refused to tell the truth, and as a consequence, her wolf dies. Kinda contrived, but justifiable in terms of the story. So there’s that.

Book Spirit: Huh. Anything else?

Well, I liked the part where the king’s brother openly mocked his nephew, that was fun.

Book Spirit: You didn’t put it in the summary, though.

Nope. I’ve got to go now, so keep an eye on things, ok?

Book Spirit: What?

I don’t expect anything to happen, but if it does, let me know. I’ll be over there.

Book Spirit: Hey, wait…!


 

Next time: Wait, wasn’t he pretty much dead!?


 

GameofThrones_1

Was he actually asking for my help? … “Holding the Gate shut,” I wonder what he meant…

Leave a Reply

