Well, I wrote something for once, anyway.

Nobody believed that “early May” bit, right? I hope not.

Ok, for those who would just like to read a story I wrote, click here. For an actual explanation, read on. πŸ™‚

So, I started this website to practice my writing, right? So far so good. And I had a specific task I set myself, and a time frame to accomplish it in. Great. So that worked well for a while.

And then I got seriously depressed.

Now, this in itself is not exactly new. I’ve been dealing with depression for a long time now (undiagnosed and undocumented, because I can be stupidly stubborn about certain things). But it was pretty bad this time, to the point where, setting aside unimportant things like blog posts, I wasn’t able to muster the enthusiasm to getΒ things done like washing the dishes or cleaning the apartment, and my frustration with myself was starting to spill out onto people around me.

Fortunately, I have things now that I didn’t have in the past, like a wife who loves me and two children who need me at least semi-functional. So I’m starting therapy now, and we’ll just have to see where that takes me. Too early to tell, really.

However. The very last thing I want to do right now, is work on a project that is only going to depress me even more. So A Game of Thrones is out for awhile.

I also have nothing I want to review at the moment. Or I don’t want to bother, one of the two.

So that leaves my original fictions. I’ll tell you right now, I’ve toyed with a lot of plots that will likely never see the light of day. Probably for the best, that. But I want to post something, and chapter 3 of A Living Will is killing me, for some reason.

So lets try something different.

I keep getting hits on my site, strangely, and I believe they are mostly people tracking back from novels I post comments on. If so, you’ve probably encountered this setup before: A hero goes on a mission to slay the demon lord with a group of his friends, and after succeeding, he is attacked by his friends on the way home. Well, you can think of this as a variation on that theme.

The Day the World Changed Course. The title is more than a bit pretentious at the moment, but bear with me. I believe the story has various problems, myself, especially in structure, but please give it a look. And if you find any egregious errors, or stuff that is just plain confusing, please tell me about it in the comments so I can fix/explicate it.

Still with me? A bit more backstory, then. I actually envisioned this story as the prologue to a much longer story, with a different main character and set some 80 years later. But the events of this story will directly result in that future, if you see what I mean, and thus it’s current title. I may or may not change it if I continue writing that story. Well, I’d like to know if anyone is interested, though. In the meantime, I’m going to try to beat A Living Will chapter 3 into shape.

…don’t wait up, this is going to take a while. πŸ˜›

P.S. If and when I begin my GOT review again, I’m probably going to spin my original fictions off onto a different site. For the sake of my own clarity, mostly. Well, its not going to happen anytime soon, though, I just wanted to mention it.

8 thoughts on “Well, I wrote something for once, anyway.

  1. You have a family? Never knew that before. What’re they like?

    Anyways, your condition over the past couple months sounds similar to my own, though I’ve never gotten the courage to get myself diagnosed for depression or things like that. I’m hoping that speeding up the pace of my own reviews can somehow break my “blah” mood.

    Anyways, I said ages ago I was going to give this blog a thorough readthrough, wasn’t I? I’m still determined to do that… eventually…

    Like

    1. I have a wife, a son, and a daughter. My wife is working, while I’m doing the house-husband thing…my son’s a good boy, and my daughter…actually I think she’s destroying her room right now, I should check on her… πŸ™„

      Anyway, my attempts at writing usually go like this: OK, let’s write -> here I am at my computer -> as long as I’m here, let’s see if anything interesting has updated -> ends up reading for the rest of the day. It’s a terrible, terrible cycle… 😩

      Like

  2. I understand that terrible cycle thingy… Ive wanted to write for so long and all i end up doing is just reading anything i can find instead of writing myself… Although what im writing is of a different nature ^^* still i get that frustrating cycle of nothingness…. Wish you good luck and inspiration, plus update us on your situation, I find that sharing things to people who know nothing about you could actually release some panted up steam. Its refreshing πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Ah, thanks for reading my pointless complaints, I appreciate it. I hope you enjoyed the story I wrote as well. πŸ˜‰

      I took a look at your site; I haven’t played D&D in quite some time, but at one time I was think about running a campaign, and writing it up online afterword. Come to think of it, I wonder what my password to Obsidian Portal was… :/

      Anyhow. Thanks for checking out my site, and have a good day! πŸ˜€

      Like

      1. Didn’t read it yet, planing to soon though, you intrigued me ;). Thanks for checking mine as well, didn’t update it cuz of lack of consistency about the session’s, i am planning to though, be sure to check it soon if it interests you ^^ have a nice day πŸ™‚ don’t feel obligated to though ._. I am having a hard time writing it so it’ll take a while T_T

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello there again πŸ™‚ I did end up updating my “story” and posted the first part of it, actually im coming here to ask you to check it out and give a review if you can ^^* I`d like to hear an “outsider`s” pov since all those who i can ask were actually there when the “story” was forming… so not the best opinion if i want it to see what`s not clear enough for readers and what needs extra work and explanations.

    Like

Leave a Reply

