Still not dead. Probably. But, NaNoWriMo is coming!

Hey there, to the 15 people who follow me on WordPress, and all the rest who wander in from…wherever. Actually, considering how I’ve only managed to post one chapter over the entirety of September, I’m surprised I’m still getting hits on the blog… Well, let’s not sweat the details. September really sucked for me, in a lot of ways that I’m not going to bore you with today, so I’m going to write it off and pretend it never happened.

So, moving on. I plan to write and release another couple chapters of A Living Will during October, but I think I’m going to be spending relatively more time preparing for NaNoWriMo in November. In case you don’t know, National Novel Writing Month is a self-imposed challenge to write 50,000 words in thirty days. That’s a little less than 1700 words a day, or around the length of a chapter of A Living Will.

…Which really puts it in perspective for me, all of the sudden. This could be tougher than I thought…

Anyway, I’m currently thinking about what I want to write for the challenge, and I was wondering if anyone had any requests. Is there some plot/trope/issue that you’d like to see me grapple with? I lean more towards fantasy than science fiction, but I’m not above treating science like magic on occasion. I don’t do pure tragedy, because I find it depressing, or revenge fantasies, because I find them boring. (And I don’t write R18 stuff, because I find it embarassing. 😛 )Other than that, I’m open to most things, so if you have any ideas please put them in the comments. Or hey, if you’re planning to participate in NaNoWriMo, what are you thinking of writing about? That’d be cool, too. 🙂

Or maybe I should just write that gritty Super Mario fanfic I’ve been considering, where Mario falls into another world and nearly dies in a desert, only to be rescued by Bowser on a whim, and the two become friends but also rivals for the invincible and immortal powers contained in the fallen Stars…

…naaaaah.

3 thoughts on “Still not dead. Probably. But, NaNoWriMo is coming!

  1. How about something with this sort of setting:
    Technology have developed tremendously, but the world is dying and about to perish. As a means to escape the fading reality, organizations around the world offer people a new world, a virtual one, at which they can choose the setting of the world, for example – a set back world where there is no much technology and the people progress their lifes by farming and such.
    But! (oh boy a plot twist?) as time moves on the virtual worlds all collapse and get combined together (cause technology is awesome like that~) and well, from there I think you can manage on your own 😛

    Had a random spark of inspiration, don’t mind me just passing by!

    Like

    1. Hmm, interesting, but why hasn’t agriculture technology advanced as well? And how does putting people into a virtual world improve the food situation? But as an extreme form of burying your head in the sand, it’s interesting.

      Actually, Brandon Sanderson wrote a short story somewhat along those lines. Notably, it was one of the few things he wrote that I didn’t really like — mostly because I couldn’t quite figure out what I was supposed to take away from the ending. Title was “Perfect State”.

      Like

      1. Well, if you want to to dive into the situation deeper, I would say this; technology came into a standstill state, food wise – agriculture is self maintaining, meaning that food is being produced in an automated way which doesn’t require handling, food is also free for everyone and is given equally per person.
        Its a sort of perfect state i would say xP, but the point is this from my point of view-the world itself is dying, meaning they can’t escape anywhere from reality and they can’t restore their world, (choose whatever means to describe a planet on decline… Too much to think about right now). Basically, their life is free of any problems what so ever, aside of the terrifying fact their world is about to end. Then comes a “solution” a way to “preserve” your life in the way you choose, obviously, escaping reality.

        So, to summarize, there is no need to make the food situation better, since its as best as can be, and since there is no fear of dying from hunger, even though the world is declining, only thing left to do, for the people who choose so that is, is to log intl a virtual world and do as they desire.

        Like

Leave a Reply

