Day 23

How are you, everyone? I’m doing well, myself. Only, I think my story has been firmly punched in the genre, and I’m not sure what’s going to happen next. Hmm.

OK, the real problem I’m having, if a problem it is, is that there is so much going on in the background, that isn’t part of the core mystery. Setting level stuff, I mean. So the section I’m in right now is a huge intrusion of that backstory, and so of course it’s threatening to derail the (much smaller) plot of this particular novel. This leads me to fear that, when I hit revisions, I’m going to have to excise the whole thing, and replace it with something much simpler. I don’t want to do that. It sounds like work. 😦

Oh, and so far, the nicest, kindest, most understanding person in my story? A sentient freaking building. 😯

Total words: 38667 (1779 today)

Words left: 11333

On par: +326

Excerpt:

Finally the two reached the arch, and the skeletal guide halted. Briar could sense the magic in the air, now; it was all tied up in the barrier covering the black palace. It gave him hope that, past this archway, there might be humans like himself. He clung to this hope, and tried to ignore everything around him. Amazingly, it caused him even worse feelings than Esoterica.

“Well now, what have we here,” whispered a voice. It echoed around Briar, but he couldn’t locate the speaker. “Another recruit for our beloved little community, perhaps? Introduce me, A’eron.”

“ThIs iS BrIaR SeVoN, a gUeSt fOr tHe FiRsT BlAdE,” answered the skeletal guide in it’s broken voice.

“My, my, a guest, how rare. Welcome to the Darkness Retreat, dear guest, a small enclave set within this Inverse Cyan,” the voice whispered. Briar stopped trying to find the speaker, and simply nodded. “Well, there is no need for you to stand out there in the street. Come in, dear guest.”

2 thoughts on “Day 23

Leave a Reply

