Sunday writing digest 2: The “Metal Helicopter” edition!

So, this was a bad week on the writing front. First of all, while I finished my scheduled chapter for ALW on time, I wasn’t entirely happy about how it turned out. Exposition-heavy chapters are always hard… Oh, well, next week is a conversation with Officer Jack Cross, and an explanation for why it took Zedda a week to get to Metria’s bar, though you can probably guess the reason by this point. 😛

Secondly, my novel. Despite deliberately setting aside time to work on it… I just wasn’t feeling it at all, and couldn’t get motivated. I have a bad feeling that the current scene has diverged from what I wanted… The only thing to do is push through, and get to the next scene quickly, I guess. I only wrote 321 words this week. That’s sad… 😦

So, for my Friday project (which ended up being my Saturday project., I worked a little on my Connie Karma side project, to the tune of 1853 words. It was fun, although… I started from the very last part of the prologue, where Karnak is dropped into the Akashic Record, because I felt it was the most iconic part of what I was trying to do. I’ll be back-filling the rest of the prologue once I reach the end of that part, and then moving on to the actual story, if you follow me. In other words, it will be a long time before this project starts hitting the site. Also… I’ve been using the “table” function of GDocs to put a box around certain passages, but I’m not sure how that will port to WordPress. Worst case scenario, I might have to find a different platform to post it on, in order to present it in the way it was meant to be viewed… Well, I’ll figure it out when the time comes. :shrugs:

So, what have I been doing this week, since I haven’t been writing?img_0001

Well, this, for one thing. In case you’re wondering, that’s a model Apache AH-64 made from two thin sheets of metal. I can’t decide if it was tougher than I thought it would be, or just as tough… It was pretty fun, though. Not pictured: how I had to glue one of the wheels on, since the metal got too damaged. 😛

Oh, and I beat Axiom Verge. And Song of the Deep. Good games, you should try them. Although, I’ve got to get my PS4 online somehow and see if there’s a patch for SotD — there were a couple of places where camera screw and laggy processing caused certain side challenges to be about 100% impossible. Oh, and the SFX cut out during the final boss fight. Otherwise, wonderful game.

Well. OK, then. Next week, I’m going to buckle down and dig into my novel. I need to get that done, or it will just drag me down forever. Well, it’s not like I have other projects to distract me, right…?

img_0002

…damn it. That little dude on top looks tough… 😯

2 thoughts on “Sunday writing digest 2: The “Metal Helicopter” edition!

Leave a Reply

