Sunday writing digest 6: the “Mills of God” edition!

In case you’re wondering, the quote is “Though the mills of God grind slowly; Yet they grind exceeding small.” In my case, of course, the emphasis is on “slowly.” As in, I am slowly beginning to get back into writing my novel. Sadly, only to the tune of about ~1500 words, but it’s a start, right? I even deliberately moved out of the scene I was stuck in to a more pivotal one, but in the end I kept procrastinating… and here we are.

I also didn’t manage to get the piece I wanted to do on Friday done… again, mostly because I got hooked on another translated novel with hundreds of chapters. I just don’t learn… But hey, I got the weekly chapter of ALW done. So at least there’s that. πŸ˜‰

(Note to self: don’t admit that you wanted to do a second chapter this week. It will only depress you. 😦 )

As for what else I was doing this week… I picked up another metal model. Sigh… It’s a Kawasaki Ninja motorcycle, and it looked really cool, so don’t judge me! I should have it finished by next Sunday, so look forward to that. I guess. πŸ˜›

Other than that, I lost most of today in a trip up north to a gathering of my wife’s extended family. I was going to type in the car… but ultimately ended up reading instead. Damn you, translators! (I’m kidding. I love you guys. πŸ˜‰ ) Of course, that means that I didn’t get to do my “help others” stuff today, too. Sorry, Jack, I promise to find some time tomorrow to finish up with your project. *dozega*

Oh, and one other thing… I lost some more time after wandering into the livestream of renaissance man and aspiring writer ohmariowv (whom you might see commenting on my posts fairly frequently) and dropping a Panda-mic of bad puns on his head. As a pseudo-apology, let me take a moment to recommend his original web novel, Let’s Go Devil King! It’s a fun little parody of certain Japanese novel tropes, so it’s very tongue-in-cheek at times, but well worth the read. (He has another novel started, but I haven’t read that one yet. Eventually. πŸ˜› )

Actually, I’ve been thinking about recommending the original web novels I read, as there’s only a few of them. I think I’ll do that. OK, from now on, a recommendation at the end of every digest! In case you missed the link (which is very possible, I think this theme doesn’t distinguish them very well. I still like the theme, though…) here it is again: ohmariowv’s Let’s Go Devil King!

7 thoughts on “Sunday writing digest 6: the “Mills of God” edition!

  1. Thanks for the shout out, my friend. Sadly I am the farthest thing from a Renaissance man. I’ve done many things, had a show on YouTube five years ago, wrote what was once the top SoulCalubir fan fiction on fanfiction(dot)net before taking it down because of some personal drama at the time, and some other things. But you my friend, have done more. You got a wife and technically your own place. Not to mention a pretty good story in the works. So in truth, I have more of a reason to praise you than for you to praise me.

    Also… I mentioned it in the Livestream highlights, but the panda is back. Details on the highlights post.

    Oh, be warned when reading Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu, it was one of the longest chapters. I think Reigokai’s gonna kill himself by overworking.

    Like

      1. I’ll check it out later, Izerio emailed me some of them last night. As for Tsuki ga… I’m just glad that I wasn’t live streaming when Reigokai posted it, I would had canceled the stream.

        Thanks for the panda puns though. Hopefully you will be able to get a few in on Friday’s stream?

        Like

  2. I’m pretty sure its ‘dogeza’ πŸ˜› am I the only one who laughs from this arrangement of words: ‘prostrating for procrastinating’.? (Thats what popped up in my head when you wrote “dozega”)

    Also, I’ve made a huge mistake. I’ve started reading Overlord… meaning: time to do other stuff = N/A

    Like

Leave a Reply

