Numbers! Everyone loves numbers, right? :P

So! I just (finally) finished putting my PS3 games into a storage unit, so I could get rid of all those jewel cases and save some space. This is something I did previously with my PS2 collection, incidentally, and probably something I should do for my PS1 collection as well, which is currently sitting in a box. 😛

Anyway, I thought it would be interesting to run the numbers on my games, just to see my completion percentages. So here we go:

I have 90(!) discs worth of PS3 games. However, two of the discs are DanceDance Revolution and Zumba; since those two are more like exercise platforms than games, it makes the question of completion really nebulous, so let’s exclude them, and say I have 88. :\

Of those 88 games, I have successfully played through to completion (of at least one ending, at least one time) … 29 of them! That’s an approximately 33% completion rate, which is… actually a lot better than I expected. Huh. But we’ll get to the reason for that below… It’s still pretty pathetic, all around, I think. 😐

There is another category I’d like to introduce: games that, despite buying, I have never once inserted into my PS3! There are five games on my list I never so much as touched!

…Yeah, I’m reflecting. 😦

Highlights of my collection include:

From the Atelier series: Atelier Rorona, Atelier Totori, Atelier Meruru, Atelier Ayesha, Atelier Escha & Logy, and Atelier Shallie. Do you get the impression that I like the Atelier games? Because I love the Atelier games. Sadly, I don’t seem to complete them: the only one on this list I’ve completed (once) is Ayesha. And, since Rorona, Totori, and Meruru are a chronological series, I never played Totori or Meruru, since I wanted to complete Rorona first. I just… never did. :\

From the Lego games: Lego Batman 2, Lego Batman 3, Lego Marvel Super Heroes, Lego Pirates of the Caribbean, Lego Movie Videogame, Lego Lord of the Rings, Lego Hobbit, Lego Harry Potter Years 1-4 & 5-7, Lego Jurassic World. Yeah, I really like the Lego games, too. And since they’re seriously easy to complete, these ten games raise my completion rate by a really significant degree: if I exclude them, my completion drops to 19 out of 78 games, or 24% — a huge drop. 😦

Games that I had played through on a previous system: Tales of Symphonia Chronicles, Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster, Kingdom Hearts HD 2.5 ReMix, Jak & Daxter Collection, and the Ico and Shadow of the Colossus Collection. All of which are games I played to completion on the PS2 (with the exception of Symphonia, which I borrowed a friends GameCube to complete), none of which I completed on PS3. I was a little unsure about whether I should count them as completed or not, but since I bought them individually for the PS3, then didn’t finish them, I decided they belonged in the uncompleted category. All great games, though. 😉

Finally, it’s not really what I’d call a highlight, but I was uncertain whether to count my Genesis Collection disc as a game I could actually complete, seeing as it’s actually about 40(?) games. But since I didn’t complete any of them, I suppose it’s fine to just count it as another uncompleted game. It doesn’t sway the total that much, anyway.

Unless I count every game on the disc separately, of course. But that’s way too much effort. 😛

Ok, enough of that. My resolution is to maintain a much higher completion rate for my PS4 games! I’m currently sitting at… 2 out of 13. (Rachet and Clank and Song of the Deep, incidentally.) So the current rate is about 15%, but I am in the last dungeon of Tales of Berseria (which is huge, incidentally 😦 ) so pretty soon that will jump to 3 out of 13, 23%.

…Yeah, I’ve got a ways to go. And I need to stop buying games. -_-;

3 thoughts on “Numbers! Everyone loves numbers, right? :P

  1. Seriously? If I combined all my NES, SNES, N64, and Sega Genesis cartridges with my remaining PS1 discs (a lot of those were stolen because my step dad made me lend them to the wrong people), PS2 discs, PS3 discs, Xbox discs, Xbox 360 discs, Dreamcast discs, GameCube discs, Wii discs, and finally PS4 discs… you would still have more games than I do. I actually have more download games on the PS4 than discs… but not sure if I should count them. I actually need to get a bigger hard drive for my PS4, that 500 gig one is not big enough. Found a 2 terabyte one for less than a hundred on Amazon that I REALLY wanna get, but I don’t have the money right now.

    Point being, I finally found someone with a bigger collection than myself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

