Sunday Digest: I’m pumped!

What am I pumped about? I’ve finally got a M1 Abrahms! …model. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So yeah, once I’m done with my train, I’ll get started on that, and then I’ll have five tanks! Wao! ๐Ÿ˜€

Speaking of my train…

IMG_20170730_122612

Here is a Gondola Freight Car, and for some reason part of a cup of iced tea. I’m not sure why the tea is there but the Gondola car “Is a close relative to the flat car but has low ribbed sides that make it useful for many types of loads. It is often referred to as the ‘do anything car’.” Hey, if it can do ‘anything’ then can it carry loads into SPACE!? Yeah, didn’t think so. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Cough, anyway, I finished chapter 12 of Anubai, so if you haven’t read that yet, give it a go and tell me what you think. Personally, I wish the two characters who are supposed to fight at the drop of a hat wouldn’t spend half the chapter chattering at each other, but what can I do? There’s some history there, y’know? ^^;

So, yeah. As you’ve noticed, I’ve been having a hard time getting chapters done in a timely and responsible manner, so I’ve decided to change up my procedure a bit. In the past, I’ve released a chapter immediately whenever I had it ‘finished,’ i.e. I’ve written at least 3000 words and scanned it for typos and poor word choice at least twice. Unfortunately, without some sort of deadline to guide me, I have a tendency toย not work on the project at all. So for the future, I’m going to start writingย somethingย every Monday, and try to get it done early; and then on Friday, I’ll do a final check before postingย whatever I have finished, even if it isn’t a full chapter. Then, if the chapter isn’t quite finished, I can finish it over the weekend and update it on Sunday with my digest post. The idea is to pull some of the pressure off me at the end of the week, and possibly not write anything at all over the weekend, but still be able to release at least one chapter on a regular day every week. Does that make sense? ๐Ÿ™‚

Well, I say I want to start that schedule, but… my wife and I, just today, applied to get a three bedroom apartment, and it looks like we have a very good chance of getting it. Which is awesome, setting aside that are rent will be nearly $500 dollars more expensive than it is now, but it means that we’ve really got to buckle down and get everything organized and ready to go before we move. Incidentally, we’ll have to be out of the place we’re in by Sept. 30, but won’t be able to move in to the next place until Oct. 1. (Unless we pay about $1600 to keep our current place an extra month. Expensive.) So I may or may not be able to establish a good schedule around cleaning, organizing, and packing. Just so you know.

Mm, this post is running a bit long, but there is still something I want to hit before I go. I’ve been playing Lego Avengers to completion which, while easy, takes a surprising amount of time from all the sheer running around. But once I finish that up and grab the Platinum trophy, I’m going to be moving on to a different game, and I’m trying to decide which to focus on. Among the contenders:

  1. Atelier Sophie/Atelier Firis: I absolutelyย love the Atelier games. I love hunting for ingredients, fighting cute monsters, creating items through Alchemy, and interacting with all the off-beat characters. Traditionally, however, I’ve had a tendency to put the games to the side without finishing them, and I’m actually not sure why. I’d like to finish Sophie, and start its sequel(?) Firis, but there are a couple other options too…
  2. Anima: Gate of Memories: I picked up the collector’s edition from the Nippon Ichi store for fifty bucks, and I don’t regret it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Setting aside the cool extras, including a 13 card tarot deck, the game itself is a third-person action RPG — something along the lines of a Devil May Cry game, I guess? I’ve played a bit of it, and the fighting is decent, the cut-scenes are… a little weird, but so far it seems solid. And very pretty and atmospheric, so there’s that going for it too.
  3. Nights of Azure: An action game like Anima, only more… linear, I guess? That’s my impression, anyway. It doesn’t have the deep lore and franchise that Anima does, but it’s art style is similarly good, and the cut-scenes are less weird. So there’s that. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  4. Persona 5: For whatever reason, I haven’t even started playing this one yet. I wonder what I’m waiting for? But I liked P3, and Iย adored P4, so I have no doubt that I will enjoy this one as well.
  5. Final Fantasy XV: This game is really, really dense, and I’m a sidequest addict, so I could lose days playing this game. However, I was kinda turned off by the palpable sense ofย tragedy that hung over everything, so I didn’t play it for too long before setting it aside. I fully intend to go back to it, though… someday… I just tend not to since I have so many other choices.

I would totally stream myself playing any and all of these games if I had a permanent internet connection, and invite you all to laugh at my incompetence. Too bad. ๐Ÿ˜›

Those are the games on my PS4 that I would at least want to complete, if not aim for 100%. There are a few more worth mentioning, though:

  1. Lego City Undercover: I would normally aim for 100% with any Lego game (since they’re so easy ๐Ÿ˜› ) but this particular game is the one I’m playing together with my son. Or I was, until we ran into a game-breaking bug where the next level wouldn’t load… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I’ve installed an update since then, so it’s about time for us to go back and try again. I’m just not going to hurry ahead with this one; but eventually, I’ll drive it to 100% as well.
  2. Dark Souls 3: Just picked up the complete edition. I have absolutely no intention of trying to make any real progress in this game. This is to prevent me from stressing out from dying all the time… Incidentally, I played just a little while so far, as an Assassin class, and I couldn’t get the first boss down past 50% health before dying. What I’m saying is, I’m not very good at the game, and I’m not going to get good soon. Such is life… well, death. Dark Souls, after all. ๐Ÿ˜›
  3. Borderlands 2/Pre-sequel: I enjoy playing these games. I also won’t play them in front of my children. So I have a limited amount of time in which to play them, making aiming for full completion impractical. Such is life. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  4. Disgaea 5: I love Disgaea games a lot, but I haven’t played entirely through one since Disgaea 2 (because 2 was the best ๐Ÿ˜€ ). I have short periods where I like to sit down and play and level characters, and then I move on to something else. I’m ok with this. ๐Ÿ˜€

tl;dr: I like games. ๐Ÿ˜›

Well, ok. Now that this post is about as long as an ALW chapter, let me just say: Thanks for reading, and stay safe, everyone! ๐Ÿ˜€

5 thoughts on “Sunday Digest: I’m pumped!

  1. Hopefully something will happen after you move and you will be able to get a stable internet connection. If you start live streaming, I have to attend. Not as a matter of duty, but because I’m sure you’re streams would be better than mine.

    As for Annubai… it’s up to you whether Gan Zhu and Li Stahn decide to just talk things out or not. I think they’d make a good duo, but that’s just my opinion.

    I haven’t been writing lately because I’m still busy with my dad’s final affairs, gotta get a gas tank installed on the truck, and I’ve been having trouble with that damn broken tooth. I think it might have become abscessed by now? All I know is that it’s cut into my sleep so much that I’ve only had a few hours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sorry to hear about your tooth; toothache is the worst. I’m actually having a tooth removed on Thursday… The initial root canal (several years ago) was botched, and there were various complications to fixing it, so I just decided to have it pulled, and call it a day. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

      Speaking of your livestream, when are you planning on starting again? I know you’ve been really busy, and there’s no rush, but I was just wondering if you had a plan. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. After I got everything else done, I will stream again. Trust me, I miss doing it. Sadly… the videos from the last streams I’ve done no longer exist because I didn’t get to import them to YouTube. That was my own blunder though.

        Like

Leave a Reply

